From priceless documents to Roman relics, ancient coins and gold insignia to the town’s role as a safe haven, the newly refurbished Sandwich Guildhall Museum offer visitors a unique opportunity to appreciate and admire the fascinating story of this ancient Cinque Port town.
There's also a very rare opportunity to see one of the most celebrated documents in history - the Magna Carta - together with its sister document, the Charter of the Forest dating from 1300.
Open: Wednesday – Sunday from 10.00 – 16.00 including Bank Holidays.
Closed over Christmas and New Year.
Full Wheelchair Access. Guide dogs welcome.
For further information, including group visitors and special exhibitions, visit: www.sandwichguildhallmuseum.co.uk
Sandwich Guildhall Archives, housed in the historic Guildhall holds document material related to the history of Sandwich. This includes paperwork relating to the council and it’s predecessor sandwich Borough as well as the personal collections of individuals and organisations from the town.
The collection also includes, maps and plans, photographs, burial information, postcards relating to Sandwich and the surrounding area, some newspapers and
Also housed in the archives is the library which boasts a collection of books, pamphlets and research relating to the history of Sandwich up to the present day.
Some of Sandwich’s older material is housed at the Kent History and Library Centre. The catalogue can be seen here http://www.kent.gov.uk/leisure-and-community/history-and-heritage/kent-archives
Visits to the archives are by appointment only on Mondays and Wednesdays 14.30-16.30.
All enquiries or bookings should be directed to email@example.com; or on 01304 617197.
The archives are only accessible by stairs, however if you wish to view an item and will be unable to access the archives we will endeavour to arrange for this material to be transferred to a lower floor or provided digitally.